Products Navigation Menu Ceiling Fans Guaranteed Lowest Prices All types of Lighting for your home Fireplace Gas Logs Fireplace decor, screens and accessories Firemagic Barbecues Furniture and Decor
Hansen Wholesale on Facebook Hansen Wholesale on Twitter Hansen Wholesale on YouTube Hansen Wholesale at LinkedIn Hansen Wholesale on Pinterest Hansen Wholesale on Google Plus Hansen Wholesale on Houzz
The Most Efficient Ceiling Fans
???
Now accepting PayPal
Tell us your Ceiling Fan ideas!
Bookmark this page!

Ceiling Fans Reviews, Questions and Answers

Read what others are saying or asking about ceiling fans.
121 to 150 of 4655 Posts: Back 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... Next



121. Question #9313 Posted: 7/9/2012 8:40:00 AM
WHY IS DC BETTER THAN AC

Answer: "The brief answer is that DC motors use less than 1/3 the amount of energy than AC motors, yet provide as much or better airflow. So they are super efficient (over 300% more efficient). Read more details about DC ceiling fan motors here: Ceiling Fans with DC Motors"


122. Question #9312 Posted: 7/8/2012 12:58:50 AM
Where are the Minka Aire fans manufactured?

Answer: "All Minka Aire ceiling fans are made in China. As a matter of fact, virtually all ceiling fans sold in the USA are now made in China, with few exceptions that are imported from other countries. There are no ceiling fans that are currently being manufactured in the USA.

Read an article I wrote about this here: Ceiling Fans Made In The USA?. "



123. Question #9311 Posted: 7/3/2012 1:24:21 AM
No ?-just a compliment. I found this article explaining the differences in fans a big help. We purchased fans previously at our local store for another home and they did not perform well and did not move enough air. We are building a new home and will most certainly consider your company for our purchases of ceiling fans. Thank you

Answer: "Thanks for the compliment, we certainly appreciate it. We look forward to providing you with the most excellent service when you are ready to purchase your ceiling fans."


124.
See This Fan
#9310 Posted: 6/30/2012 11:21:40 AM
I love the look of this fan, but my ceilings are 10'. What is a comparable model for higher ceilings?

Answer: "For ceilings over 8 feet high, the comparable model to the Minka Aire Concept II flushmount fan is the Minka Aire Concept I, which hangs from a downrod. You will find them as options listed on the same page as the Concept II. Here is a link to the Minka Aire Concept I."


125.
See This Fan
#9309 Posted: 6/27/2012 1:38:19 AM
I have 9 foot ceilings. Should I get the 12" rod for the Minka Aire Artemis fan, or will the 6" that comes with it allow for enough air circulation?

Answer: "The 6" downrod supplied with the Artemis is recommended for ceilings between 8 and 9 feet high, so it will be perfect for your ceiling."


126. Question #9304 Posted: 6/13/2012 8:15:27 PM
Hi! I need a glass globe that fits inside a brass mount with 3 screws. The screws tighten over the glass globe ring. I measured the brass mount and it is 11 and one half inches in circumference. My ceiling fan has four blades and was put in in 1978. I do not know the diameter or center measurements because my glass globe broke. Do your have a replacement globe that I can order for one bulb? Thank you very much.

Answer: "Fan Globes like the one you have described are typically made specifically for the ceiling fan or light fixture that they came with. A replacement globe for fan that is as old as yours is most likely not available and there are no generic replacements for such globes. So in order to help you I would need to know the brand and model number of the fan. If by chance it is still being manufactured (not likely), then it may be available. The make and model is usually printed on a label that is on the top of the motor housing. So you will either need to get up on a ladder to see the top of the fan or remove the fan from the ceiling to view the label. You can also email me some pictures of the fan and I may be able to identify it. Email your ceiling fan pictures to: gregt@hansenwholesale.com "


127. Question #9303 Posted: 6/13/2012 8:11:49 PM
We installed an outdoor ceiling fan on our front porch, but it doesnt seem to be pushing air in either direction. Our inside fans can be felt circulating air as soon as we turn them on. Could the blades be misaligned?

Answer: "Without knowing what brand and model of fan you purchased, I cannot say much...although it is quite unlikely that the lack of airflow has anything to do with improper blade installation. Some fans move air while others do not based on the level of quality and design. Cheaper fans sold at home centers and department stores tend to move very little air.

The best way to determine if a fan is going to move air before you buy it is to look at the specifications...particularly the CFM airflow rating (cubic Feet of Airflow per Minute). Fans that produce over 6,000 CFM are decent and those that produce over 6,500 CFM are best. Some lesser quality fans produce as little as 2,500 CFM. Our website is the only source on the Internet that allows you to shop for outdoor (or any) ceiling fan and sort by Quality and CFM. Our outdoor ceiling fans are already sorted this way, so if you search our outdoor fans you will find the best fans and highest airflow rated fans come up first. You can then filter your results in any number of other ways to find the size and style of fan that best suits your needs.

Here is a link to our Outdoor Ceiling Fans. If your fan will be exposed directly to rain, be sure to select "Wet Rated" fans. If your fan is in a covered area you can use either a damp or wet rated fan.

If you can email me some pictures of your existing fan I may be able to offer more insight about the lack of airflow as well as suggestions for a replacement fan that will give you better performance. Email pictures to: gregt@hansenwholesale.com "



128.
See This Fan
#9302 Posted: 6/13/2012 7:56:42 PM
called today re. Minka Aluma...do you have a photo of the canopy you can email? would like to see how bulky it is. Thanks.

Answer: "We do not have an actual picture of the canopy, nor does Minka Aire. The canopy is not bulky, but rather simple and streamlined to match the lines of the fan. You will find a line-art representation of it in the installation manual which you can download here: Minka Aire Aluma Installation Manual."


129. Question #9301 Posted: 6/9/2012 8:18:53 PM
how to check the efficiency of the ceiling fans in our house?

Answer: "There is no way to check the efficiency of your fans inside your home. Efficiency is tested with special equipment that tests the airflow of the fan using monitors setup in a controlled testing environment. To find the efficiency rating of your fan, you will need to know the brand name and model number and then see if an efficiency test was performed. If you email me that info, I may be able to find the data for you if it exists. Email to: gregt@hansenwholesale.com

FYI: Here is a link to the EPA Ceiling Fan Efficiency Testing Documentation "


130.
See This Fan
#9300 Posted: 5/24/2012 9:07:48 PM
We are interested in a MinkaAire Wing fan and we have a 8.12 pitch ceiling in our home; we will not mount this fan on the sloped part of the ceiling, but on the peak of the 8.12 pitch; what length downrod would we need so that the 52 in. blades do not scrape the ceiling?

Answer: "The shortest downrod you can use and still clear the ceiling is an 18" downrod, which would give you 2 or 3 inches of clearance. If the ceiling is 10' high, I would recommend a 24" downrod. If you let me know how high your ceiling is I can recommend the correct size downrod for your application."


131. Question #9299 Posted: 5/24/2012 9:06:13 PM
what does leadwire length pertain to in model # CF921CK?

Answer: "The leadwire length is the length of wire that comes out of the top of the fan. A longer lead wire allows you to install a longer downrod if necessary. Some brands only give you 2 or 3 feet of wire, so if you need a 6 foot pole, you cannot install it without splicing the wires. An 80" lead wire is the best because it will accommodate any length pole up to 6 feet and can be cut shorter for standard installations."


132. Question #9298 Posted: 5/24/2012 9:02:01 PM
hello, i am looking to replace reciver and transmitter for my fan, have lost transmitter, reciver # is 7067IM-19(4+6),model # on fan is YU-C52WCF. I would like to move this fan to inside(it says outdoor on it, will it be ok on inside? Thanks for your help. John Green

Answer: "The fan that you are referring to is a Harbor Breeze fan which is made in China and imported directly by Lowes...it is their own brand. So we do not have access to any replacement parts for their fans. I suggest you contact Lowes to see if they can help you. As far as installing an outdoor fan indoors, that is perfectly OK. You just cannot install an indoor fan outdoors."


133. Question #9297 Posted: 5/24/2012 8:58:48 PM
What kind of outdoor fan would you recommend for using under an awning??? We are having the awning comany install a brace bar to mount the fan and wanted to know what kind of fan to look for. Thanks,

Answer: "Any outdoor application will require an outdoor rated ceiling fan. There are 2 types of ratings for outdoor fans: Damp and Wet. If the fan will be in a location where it comes in direct contact with rain, it must be rated for outdoor wet locations. If the fan will NOT be in direct contact with rain or the elements, then it must be damp rated, but can be wet rated. If in doubt, just choose a wet rated fan. For more details about which fans are appropriate for outdoors or to shop for outdoor ceiling fans, visit this page on our site: Outdoor Ceiling Fans."


134.
See This Fan
#9296 Posted: 4/28/2012 8:33:04 PM
Regarding the Minka Aire Concept I 52, Model F517 BN -- I submitted this question about a week ago and have not heard back. I am thinking of getting this fan for my master bedroom. Is it quiet running enough for this purpose? For example, on a scale of 1 to 10 with 10 being very loud and 1 very quiet, where do you think this fan would fall in that range? thank you.

Answer: "The fan motor itself is very quiet and highly recommended for sound sensitive applications such as bedrooms. However, you can expect to hear the wind noise on high and medium speeds just as with any other fan that moves lots of air. On a scale from 1 to 10 for motor noise I would rate it 9. Wind noise is above average since the fan moves more air than the average fan. Plus, 3 blade fans will have slightly more wind noise than 5 blade fans, though most people find the sound of the breeze to be soothing."


135.
See This Fan
#9295 Posted: 4/23/2012 11:40:07 PM
Emerson Carrera Grande Eco 60 (DC Motor) Ceiling Fan Model CF788ORB- I can't find the 72 version of this model (without the light). Also, do any have just a wall mount with all the controls so one can lose the remote?

Answer: "Here is a link to one a 60" Carrera Grand Eco fan without lights. Once you reach the page, if you click on the button for "Blades" just below the picture, you can choose from blades in various shapes and sizes that work with the Carrera Grande Eco. If you click on the "Controls" button beneath the picture you can select a wall control that is compatible with the remote that comes with the fan. "


136.
See This Fan
#9294 Posted: 4/23/2012 11:28:29 PM
Why isn't the Emerson Carrera Grande Eco energy star rated if it is one of the most efficient fans on the market?

Answer: "The Carrera Grande Eco ceiling fan is in fact Energy Star qualified when purchased with 60 inch blades. see a 60" version here:
http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/emerson/model.asp?ProdNo=CF788ORB-B91WA

Emerson offers 50 different blade options for the Carrera Grande Eco fan in various shapes and lengths. In order to say the fan is Energy Star qualified with every blade option, they would have to test it with each blade and then pay additional fees to the government for the Energy Star label with each different blade option. Needless to say, the testing and application fees are astronomical and the red tape is an additional burden. The additional costs would drive up the price of the fan significantly without any added benefit except for a label that says it is Energy Star qualified. As tested with 60" blades, the fan more than quadruples the necessary efficiency required by the EPA for Energy Star. So even though it does not bare the label with 72" blades, you can rest assured that it is 3 to 4 more efficient than most other fans that are Energy Star. "



137.
See This Fan
#9293 Posted: 4/21/2012 9:51:22 PM
is this fan quiet enough for a bedroom

Answer: "Yes, the Emerson Curva Sky is super quiet and a perfect choice for bedrooms and other sound sensitive areas where you need lots of airflow with no motor noise. This is a superb quality fan!"


138.
See This Fan
#9292 Posted: 4/21/2012 9:47:12 PM
Hello. Can the Fanimation Keistone 72 and 60 (DC MOtor) fans be purchased without the light fixture, or can the fixture be removed and replaced by some sort of plate? Like the fan, but not interested in the light fixture. Thank you. Don

Answer: "Yes, you can install the Fanimation Keistone ceiling fan without the light fixture. It comes with a bottom cap designed for that purpose. To see how this is done, you can refer to page 12 of the installation manual here!"


139.
See This Fan
#9290 Posted: 4/16/2012 7:32:45 AM
We have a bedroom that has an 8 foot ceiling. I am 6 foot 3 inches and we had a casablanca with a mushroom light which I was bumping my head. I want to replace the fan with a new one but still want the light. the room is a second floor bednroom that gets hot in summer. It is about 12 by 18. Should I use the 52" MInk Aire flushmount or is there enough room for a regular mount in which case I think I could use a smaller blade.

Answer: "Actually, a room that is 12 x 18 should use at least a 52" fan, nothing smaller. The Minka Aire Concept II hangs only 10 1/2" from the ceiling to the bottom of the light, yet still moves lots of air (most hugger fans move very little air) and has the convenience of a remote control (excellent for bedrooms). I believe the Minka Aire Concept II flushmount would be an ideal choice for you. "


140. Question #9289 Posted: 3/12/2012 2:01:37 PM
We have the 3 blade plain white vari speed standard fans in our church with metal blades with tips turned up. Someone said it would be quieter to have wood bladed residential looking fans rather. (with flat blades)Is this perhaps true?

Answer: "From your description it sounds like you have industrial ceiling fans in your church. Such fans are designed to operate at a higher RPM than residential fans, and therefore move a lot more air. They also make a lot more wind noise because they are generating more wind. So, the answer is yes, if you change to 5 blade residential ceiling fans they will operate much quieter than 3 blade industrial fans. However, they may not move as much air, so while you will have less noise, you may also feel less cooling effect depending on the layout of your church. If you email me some pictures of the fans in your church I may be able to offer more input. Email pictures to: gregt@hansenwholesale.com"


141. Question #9288 Posted: 3/12/2012 1:53:42 PM
ceiling fan, lite kit don't work. can I just buy a whole new fan and lite kit and wire it into the wires from my downrod? I had a 5-blade fan with a 4 lite kit.

Answer: "In most cases you CANNOT use an existing downrod with a new fan because each manufacturer has their own downrods that attach to their fans in their own specific manner. Plus, you would have to cut the wires that come out of the top of the motor and splice them to the wires in your existing downrod, which is much more difficult to accomplish on a ladder than simply replacing the downrod. In some cases, you cannot attach the downrod to the fan without screwing it in very tightly, which would require you to remove the existing downrod from the ceiling and do it on the floor so you can get a good grip on it while you turn the fan. Overall, not a good idea...just buy a new downrod that matches your new fan. "


142. Question #9287 Posted: 3/12/2012 1:30:26 PM
Can you please comment on pitch of blades and what difference that makes?

Answer: "Blade pitch is the angle at which the blades of a fan are positioned in respect to the horizontal plane in a room. The more a blade is pitched, the more resistance it places on the air in its path as it spins...and therefore, the more air the fan should move, that is if it spins at the same RPM. However, the key is RPM. In order to increase the blade pitch on a fan and maintain the same RPM, a more powerful motor must be used. Otherwise, the additional drag will cause the motor to spin at a lower RPM. When a fan motor is overworked, it begins to overheat and will operate less efficiently. So overworking the motor can actually cause it to move less air if the blade pitch is too great. Therefore, a well designed ceiling fan will have the correct size motor for the blade pitch. Because consumers generally believe that a steeper blade pitch makes a better fan, some fan manufacturers will simply increase the blade pitch without increasing the motor size. They do this because smaller motors are a lot less expensive and they can sell a fan with a steeper blade pitch at a lower price than the competition.

That being said, the actual shape, material, thickness, size and weight of the blades as well as the motor power and RPMs are just as important as the pitch. Without the proper consideration of all of these factors, it is foolish to compare ceiling fans based on blade pitch alone. As a matter of fact, blade pitch is not even a necessary consideration anymore because the EPA requires all ceiling fan manufacturers to publish the actual CFM output of their fans. So who cares what the blade pitch is, what is most important is how much air a fan moves (CFM) and how good the quality and durability of the motor is.

This is why I have developed our website so that the fans with the highest quality and highest CFM show up first in our search results. This way you can always find the fans that move the most air without having overworked motors. Thus, being the fans we recommend the most.

Read more about this here: Who Makes the Best Ceiling Fans: The Online Guide To Ceiling Fan Comparisons. "



143.
See This Fan
#9285 Posted: 3/12/2012 11:56:51 AM
On the Montecarlo Strasburg, can the uplight and the downlight be operated separately, i.e. independent of each other? I hate halogens due to the heat, and surprised you put them in your fan.

Answer: "Yes, the Montecarlo Strasburg fan control does have separate settings for the uplight and downlight. So you can control them both independently with their own on/off and dimming function. As far as halogen bulbs in ceiling fans, they are actually quite commonly used. Many ceiling fan manufacturers use halogen bulbs in single light fixtures that are integrated into the bottom of the fan because they are very small and yet produce great lighting. This allows manufacturers to design low profile single light fixtures that are integrated into the bottom of the fan. Incandescent bulbs require more space and therefore would require a larger bulkier looking globe, which makes designs such as the Strasburg impossible. In the 25 years I have been selling ceiling fans It is rare that I ever hear someone mention that they feel the heat from a halogen light fixture, particularly from a fan like this one that is usually mounted on a high ceiling. In most cases, the light fixture is only used in the evening when it is cooler, so the heat most likely welcome (if you can even feel it). Generally, during the day (when you really use the fan for cooling) the light fixture off...although admittedly there are many cases where this is not the so."


144. Question #9284 Posted: 3/12/2012 11:32:39 AM
Where can I find a fan for a high ceiling that lets down for easy reach to clean dust of the blades?

Answer: "There is no such ceiling fan made. Unlike chandeliers that can have a motorized mechanism that can retract and extend the chain and cord to lower and raise the fixture, ceiling fans mount to a rigid pole that must firmly attach directly to the junction box, making it difficult, if not impossible to design a method of lowering the fan.

There are extendable fan blade brushes available for cleaning the blades on higher ceilings, although we do not sell them. I have seen them at home centers. "



145.
See This Fan
#9283 Posted: 3/9/2012 10:37:45 PM
I am confused about your answer to the Minka Aire F588-SP-BCW not moving enough air for a 23X13 LR and should look for a 60" It seems that this fan is on the high side of CFM and many of the 60" fans do not move as much air. This seems like the most bang for the buck CFM fan or am I missing something. Do you just want to sell a 500 dollar plus fan?

Answer: "The Minka Aire Ultra Max is an excellent fan providing great airflow in average size rooms. If you were to install 2 of these fans in a room that is 23 feet wide, I would say that was an excellent choice. A room this size is actually too large for any single ceiling fan because it will not spread the air over a wide enough area. If you can only install one fan in, you need to consider installing a much larger fan, preferably with even more CFM. Here is a link that will show you Large Ceiling Fans Sorted by Highest CFM and Quality. This is not a matter of us trying to sell a more expensive product, it is more a matter of wanting to make sure you are satisfied with your purchase.

FYI: Ceiling fans cool you off by creating a wind chill effect. Secondly, the majority of the wind is felt directly beneath the fan and the cooling effect drops off dramatically as you move further from the fan. This is the reason that 2 smaller fans will work better than a single larger fan...and why a single smaller fan is not nearly as affective as a single larger fan. I would highly recommend the Emerson Carrera Grande or the Fanimation Keystone if you choose to go with a single large fan. They are both superb quality fans that move lots of air without wobbling or producing any motor noise."



146.
See This Fan
#9282 Posted: 3/9/2012 10:15:49 PM
5wf52bkd does it have a pull chain to shut off light. OR will the light be on all the time.

Answer: "The Montecarlo Weatherford Deluxe fans come with 2 pull chains. 1 for the light and 1 for the fan speeds."


147.
See This Fan
#9281 Posted: 3/7/2012 9:02:08 AM
I am thinking of getting 2 60-inch Montecarlo Royal Danubes but I notice a discrepancy in the "facts" re the candelabra bulb wattage for both up and down lights. one place it says three 15 wats, another place it says all are 60 watts. I read your statement about the "rolling changes" on bulb wattages - but I am not going to spend $2400 for two fans without knowing FOR SURE which wattage is allowed on the ones I will receive, as far as both uplight and downlight. Please let me know. Thanks

Answer: "The built-in up-light included with the fan uses 6 small candelabra bulbs that are 15 watts each for a total of 90 watts. The optional downlight uses 3 candelabra bulbs that are 60 watts each for a total of 180 watts."


148.
See This Fan
#9280 Posted: 2/21/2012 4:54:46 PM
Hello. I am looking to purchase the minka aire concept II ceiling fan per the hugger style. My ceiling height is 8 feet and my family room is 20 x 13 with the one side completely open to the kitchen. Looking for advice on determining between 52 and 44? Also, I do not intend to use the light package based on this fan will be in the middle of the open room and height is minimal. Can I purchase this model without the light package? Please advise. Thanks. Todd

Answer: "Your room is quite large and would definitely require the larger 52" size. There is a huge performance difference between the 44" and 52". The 44" produces 4600 CFM while the 52" model produces 6300 CFM. No doubt you should use the larger fan. All of the Concept fans come with a bottom can that replaces the light fixture in the event you wish to install it without the light. However, it does not make much difference at all in the overall height of the fan, so my recommendation is to keep the light fixture installed...you will find yourself using it since it is handy with the remote and can add a nice ambiance to the room at times. FYI: You may also want to consider a fan that hangs on a short downrod since hugger fans are designed for ceilings that are lower than 8 feet and almost all other fans are designed specifically for 8 foot ceilings. With a room your size, you can use even more airflow! Call us so we can discuss this in more detail if you like."


149.
See This Fan
#9279 Posted: 2/21/2012 4:46:13 PM
Will the CFM of this fan be less using EM-B109DO Dark Oak Finish Solid Wood blades? Also, I use the fan for both cooling and heating but more for cool. The ceiling mount point is aprox 15' from the floor on a flat surface strip that splits the vaulted type ceiling using a 60" down rod. This places the fan about 6-8' below the AC vent. The Ac vent is mounted high on a wall instead of a ceiling due to the vaulted ceiling. Do you recommend a shorter down rod so the fan will be above the AC vent?

Answer: "Airflow will be significantly less with the wider (and heavier) carved leaf blades as they put more drag on the motor and have a less aerodynamic shape. I would recommend using a 72" downrod rather than a 60". Ceiling fans cool you off by creating a wind-chill effect. So the closer the fan is to you the more breeze you will feel and the stronger the wind-chill effect will be. The cool air from the AC vent will move towards the floor level regardless of where your ceiling fan is hanging. So feeling the breeze is most important."


150. Question #9278 Posted: 2/12/2012 2:14:06 PM
We have 3 outdoor ceiling fans on our covered porch. When the wind is blowing harder than normal, the blades on the ceiling fans break. We have replaced the blades and the same thing has happened again. What can we do to prevent this from happening? The porch is longer than it is wide and has the affect of a breezeway when the wind is blowing. We would appreciate any suggestions. Please use email or leave message.

Answer: "Having blades break off an outdoor ceiling fan in windy conditions is quite common with some models (particularly those sold at home centers) because they use poorly designed blades and thin pot-metal blade holders. There are higher quality ceiling fans that are better designed to handle wind. They either have very heavy duty blades and blade holders, or no blade holders at all (unibody fans). Please read the information I have published on our oudoor ceiling fans page regarding "High Wind Locations". You will find it about half way down the page. There you will find a more detailed answer to your question as well as some links to fans that I would highly recommend for you.

Ceiling Fans for High Wind Conditions

Also, can you please email me some pictures of your fans? Hopefully I can see one with broken blades. I'd love to publish it on our website to help better answer this question to other visitors. I'd really appreciate it."



121 to 150 of 4655 Posts: Back 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... Next



Have a Question About? Ask an Expert!
Ask Your Questions Here!
(500 characters max)

*Name: 
*Email:  
Phone:  
Your information is kept private. Leave your phone# if you wish to speak directly to an expert (recommended)!

(We only respond to questions about brands that we sell)

Answers to Recent Ceiling Fans Questions Posted To This Page
  1. Question #9504 - Posted: 11/22/2014 1:30:40 PM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Savoy House Model SV-14-325-FD-SN

    View  model SV-14-325-FD-SN
    SV-14-325-FD-SN - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/savoyhouse/model.asp?ProdNo=SV-14-325-FD-SN

    QUESTION: How far down from the ceiling does the Seaside fan hang when installed with the flushmount option?

    ANSWER: Thanks for your question: The Seaside fan from Savoy House comes with an 8" downrod as well as a flush mount adapter. The bottom of the fan cage hangs 16.3" from the ceiling when installed with the 8" downrod. Although the manufacturer does not specify the hanging distance with the flush mount option, after reviewing the installation instructions I have estimated that the flush mount option will reduce the distance by at least 6" to be safe...if not a bit more. That would put the bottom of the fan at about 10" from the ceiling.

  2. Question #9503 - Posted: 7/6/2014 9:23:16 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Minka Aire Model F820-CT

    View  model F820-CT
    F820-CT - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/minkaaire/model.asp?ProdNo=F820-CT

    QUESTION: I want to purchase the 36" Down rod DR536-CT (Cattera Bronze finish) $25.13 for the Santa Lucia Ceiling Fan I recently purchased from you. However, when I try to select it the website automatically adds the fan too. Please help

    ANSWER: Sorry you are having trouble ordering a downrod. Here is what you can do: Simply delete the fan from your shopping cart to order just the downrod or use this link to add the downrod to your cart by itself: Minka Aire DR536-CT Downrod.

  3. Question #9502 - Posted: 7/6/2014 9:17:41 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question

    http://www.hansenwholesale.com/help.asp

    QUESTION: Do you happen to carry Hunter fan light fixtures that have a triangle base. These are not held in by screws but by a clip system. Thank you, John

    ANSWER: I am sorry to report that we do not have any of the Hunter light fixtures you are looking for. Hunter only made the triangular fixtures for a short period of time and they discontinued them several years ago (too many problems). It is unlikely that you will be able to locate one anywhere. If you can email me some pictures of your fan along with the model number (located on a label on top of the fan housing), I may be able to come up with an alternative that will fit. Email your pictures to: gregt@hansenwholesale.com

  4. Question #9501 - Posted: 7/4/2014 1:41:29 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Emerson Model CF788ORB-B78WA

    View  model CF788ORB-B78WA
    CF788ORB-B78WA - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/emerson/model.asp?ProdNo=CF788ORB-B78WA

    QUESTION: How powerful is the fan? It will be used in an upstairs room that gets quite warm? Thank you

    ANSWER: Regarding the Emerson Carrera Grande Eco, it is one of the most powerful and efficient fans we sell. The Emerson ECO fans are some of our most highly recommended fans overall. You will certainly be happy with the airflow compared to fans of lesser caliber. Here is a link where you can Read More Aabout the Emerson Eco Fans.

  5. Question #9500 - Posted: 7/3/2014 1:55:05 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Modern Fan Model VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC

    View  model VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC
    VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/modernfan/model.asp?ProdNo=VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC

    QUESTION: Hello, First off, I love all the consumer information Hansen Wholesale provides. I'd love a clarification on something. You say that hugger fans don't work as well as regular ceiling fans. This makes total sense. However, why would the Modern Fan Velo Hugger be rated at the same 6650 CFM and 5.54 MPH wind speed as the regular Velo? (Is it because the blades are installed as low as possible on the hugger fan, thus negating the height benefits?)

    ANSWER: You are exactly correct. When installed with a standard downrod, the regular Velo hangs down the same distance as the Velo Hugger, so the airflow is the same.

  6. Question #9499 - Posted: 7/2/2014 11:30:33 PM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Savoy House Model SV-58-819-5WA-37

    View  model SV-58-819-5WA-37
    SV-58-819-5WA-37 - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/savoyhouse/model.asp?ProdNo=SV-58-819-5WA-37

    QUESTION: Hello! Per the information on the site, the new DC motors, the Emerson K55XL, and other "induction" type motors are considered best quality. If that's the case, how do fans with smallish non-special motors (Say, Savoy House Indira, with 153 x 22mm motor) earn a 5 rating?

    ANSWER: There are exceptions. A 5 rating is not just based on the motor inside the fan, but the overall consideration of the quality of the components and performance. Most 153mm motors are only 12mm to 15mm tall and tend to be overworked. The motor used in the Indra is 22mm tall, which is very unusual. This is a special motor that Savoy House had designed for this fan and the performance and quality of the motor are excellent. The 3-blade Indra produces a whopping 8517 CFM and runs very smooth and quiet. The entire fan was designed to produce maximum airflow while reducing noise. The blades have a very special aerodynamic design and the fan runs perfectly quiet. When I saw this fan introduced at the lighting show in Dallas, I was very impressed. Overall, one of the best fans I have rated in years. A DC motor would have been nice...but was not necessary to earn a 5 in my book.

    Here is a link to the Savoy House Indra.

  7. Question #9496 - Posted: 6/19/2014 10:09:09 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Minka Aire Model F513-WH

    View  model F513-WH
    F513-WH - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/minkaaire/model.asp?ProdNo=F513-WH

    QUESTION: Hi, I have 4 rooms I'm thinking of installing fans. One is 10x14, 2 are 13x14, and a fourth is 23x15. For the first 3 I was considering Minka Aire F513. For the largest room I was thinking about Minka Aire MF-689. Will these be adequate? Thanks, Tom Kelley

    ANSWER: The Minka Aire F513 New Era fans will be great for the 3 smaller rooms. For the larger room, a single ceiling fan will not be adequate...you should install 2 fans. If you install 2 fans, then the F689 Kola-XL 60" fans would be a great choice. If you can only install a single fan, then I would recommend an even larger fan (up to 84") such as the Fanimation Odyn. Here are links to those resources: Large Ceiling Fans or The Fanimation Odyn. Please call us at: 1-800-201-1193 and we will be happy to discuss all of your options and help you make an educated decision.

  8. Question #9495 - Posted: 6/19/2014 9:59:26 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question

    http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/fanfaqs.asp

    QUESTION: for a DC fan I must use solar power, I am looking for a very efficient fan around 72 inch for a vaulted living room, I have 3 sky lights, I can use one for solar, if I go this way what is the ball park figure for the solar unit for the fan., and how does it work at night. or should I get a very efficient ac ceiling fan Thank you Rob Tash

    ANSWER: All of the ceiling fans we sell are made to connect to AC current and there are no options to convert them to DC current from solar power. So for high efficiency, we would recommend any of our DC ceiling fans, but connected to AC current. Here is a link to all of our Ceiling Fans with DC Motors. For a super efficient DC fan without a light, I would recommend the Fanimation Keystone. Otherwise, just give us a call and we will be happy to help you choose the best fan for your application.

  9. Question #9494 - Posted: 5/10/2014 3:26:40 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Kichler Model KL-300146AP-37027OBB

    View  model KL-300146AP-37027OBB
    KL-300146AP-37027OBB - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/kichler/model.asp?ProdNo=KL-300146AP-37027OBB

    QUESTION: The kitchler 58" arkwright fan with plywood blades. Your polished version with poly blades shows that it has plywood blades and a light. Your pewter with plywood blades says it has no blades and that no light is avail? The page also says there is an error with the blades? Does the polished version version listed as poly blades have the plywood blades and the light as listed? Does the pewter version with plywood come with the blades and does it include the light or is there one avail? Prices?

    ANSWER: Sorry for the confusion regarding the Kichler Arkwright fans, we did have some errors which I have now fixed. The bottom line is, the Kichler Arkwright fans come without blades or lights so you can pick and choose whichever combination suites your taste. We named them "Plywood" or "Polycarbonate" only to differentiate between what is shown in the pictures. But you can get any of the motor finishes with any of the blades (size, material or finish) with or without a light. The pictures and model numbers we created are just a few examples of the possible combinations.

  10. Question #9493 - Posted: 5/8/2014 9:00:50 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Casablanca Model CA-54101

    View  model CA-54101
    CA-54101 - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/casablanca/model.asp?ProdNo=CA-54101

    QUESTION: Will remote automatically work with this fan or will I have to do any rewiring? The ceiling fan I have is worried directly and not to a wall switch.

    ANSWER: This remote is only designed to work with specific Casablanca ceiling fans, so the answer depends on the fan that you already have. The receiver wires into the canopy at the ceiling. No extra wiring is necessary to install the receiver aside from connecting it to the existing ceiling wiring and to the fan wiring. Please contact us to discuss your particular fan model.

Search & Compare
Energy Efficient Ceiling Fans
Ceiling Fans with Lights
Ceiling Fan Prices
CFM Airflow on High Speed
(Cubic Feet of Air/Minute)
Other Ceiling Fan Filters
Ceiling Fan Accessories
Need to fix your fan?

Energy Star Ceiling Fans and Lighting Energy Star Products Energy Star Ceiling Fans Energy Star Lighting
Ceiling Fans - Lighting - Remodeling and Home Design

Consumer Sales
Product Info and Ordering
Phone: 1-800-201-1193
Phone2: 1-562-594-1249 (outside USA)
Fax: 1-562-626-8270
Email: Information Request
Mon-Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 7am-5pm, Sun 8am-6pm (PST)

Customer Service
Questions About Pending Orders
Phone: 1-800-607-2665
Phone2: 1-562-594-1249 (outside USA)
Fax: 1-562-626-8270
Email: Customer Service
Hours: Mon-Fri: 7am-5pm (PST)

Trade/Resale Accounts
Resale, Contractors, Etc.
Phone: 1-800-365-3267
Phone2: 1-562-594-1249 (outside USA)
Fax: 1-562-626-8270
Email: Information Request
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8:30am-4:30pm (PST)

Terms/Conditions/Privacy
About Us
Ceiling Fan Blog

Corporate Mailing Address and Warehouse
Hansen Wholesale 11132 Winners Circle Suite 100, Los Alamitos, CA 90720

Thanks for choosing Hansen Wholesale
Copyright 1994-2014 Hansen Wholesale

The End