Products Navigation Menu Ceiling Fans Guaranteed Lowest Prices All types of Lighting for your home Fireplace Gas Logs Fireplace decor, screens and accessories Firemagic Barbecues Furniture and Decor
Hansen Wholesale on Facebook Hansen Wholesale on Twitter Now accepting PayPal
NEW Eco Fans!The Most Efficient Ceiling Fans
Tell us your Ceiling Fan ideas!
Bookmark this page!
Ceiling Fans / Ceiling Fan RPMs

Maximum Ceiling Fan RPMs

Published by: Greg Tillotson
Webmaster for Hansen Wholesale
2/21/2011

Ever wonder why ceiling fans only go so fast? Ever think that if manufacturers just made ceiling fans spin faster, they would move more air? Well, maybe you don't think of these kinds of things, but as the webmaster for the Largest Ceiling Fan Website online, I can't help but have such thoughts.

The fact is: There are UL standards that place limitations on ceiling fan manufacturers that prevent them making fans that spin too fast. These limitations for safety purposes and are meant to minimize the risk of injury should a person raise their hands (or any other object) into the path of the ceiling fan blades while the fan is in operation. Imagine if some ceiling fan blades moved as fast as an airplane propeller and had blades like a machete! Well, UL standards prevent manufacturers from making such products...but they also present challenges to engineers who attempt design ceiling fans for maximum airflow and efficiency.

Maximum RPMS Allowed for Ceiling Fans

The first basic limitation is that no residential ceiling fans are allowed to be installed such that the blades are less than 7 feet from the floor. The second basic limitation has to do with the RPMs at which a fan can spin relative to the thickness of the blades. The concept is that thinner blades can cause more damage of laceration, so they are not allowed to spin as fast as those with thicker blades.

The RPMs allowed for any residential ceiling fan that can be installed on a ceiling less than 10 feet high are restricted by UL based on the blade span and thickness of the blades (see chart below). Any blade less than 3/16" thick cannot exceed the RPMs for 1/8" thick blades. Any blades 3/16" thick or greater cannot exceed the RPMs for 3/16" thick blades. In no case can the fan blades be less than 1/8" thick. No ceiling fan is allowed to be installed with the blades closer than 7 feet from the floor. These limitations are in place to minimize the risk of injury should a person raise their hands (or any other object) into the path of the fan blades while the fan is in operation.

How do RPMs affect airflow?

The amount of air that a ceiling fan produces is certainly affected by how fast is spins. Yet RPMs alone do not produce airflow. The aerodynamics of the blades is every bit as important as the RPMs. If a fan has blades that are straight and flat, it doesn't matter how fast it spins, it's not going to generate much airflow. Take the same blades and give them a 15 degree pitch and the fan will move air, but the RPMs will be slower since the angled blades are now having to perform some work, which puts drag on the motor. You can equate this to the difficulty of rowing a boat when you place the oars flat in the water compared to turning them at an angle. Flat is easy to row, but will not get you anywhere. Angling the blades just a few degrees makes it more difficult to row the boat, but you actually start moving. So imagine the difference in airflow between 2 fans that operate at the same RPM yet one has flat blades and the other has angled blades. The fan with angled blades must have a more powerful motor in order to maintain the same RPM as the fan with flat blades. So judging the airflow performance of a fan strictly by comparing RPMs is of little value. What you really need to know is how much airflow the fan will produce when operating at a particular RPM.

Maximum RPMS Reference Chart

The data below is based on ceiling fans that have a reverse function. Non-reversing ceiling fans are allowed to have slightly higher RPMs. UL actually states the limitations based on the maximum allowed speed of the tip of the fan blade at 3200 feet/minute for 3/16" thick blades and 2400 feet/minute for 1/8" thick blades. We have provided the following data by creating a formula that does this calculation based on the overall bladespan of any particular ceiling fan ranging from 24" to 84".

Based on UL 507 Standards (link to PDF removed by request of UL - 5/30/2013)

Blade Maximum RPM
Span3/16" Thick1/8" Thick
24 509 382
25 489 367
26 470 353
27 453 340
28 437 327
29 421 316
30 407 306
31 394 296
32 382 286
33 370 278
34 360 270
35 349 262
36 340 255
37 330 248
38 322 241
39 313 235
40 306 229
41 298 224
42 291 218
43 284 213
44 278 208
45 272 204
46 266 199
47 260 195
48 255 191
49 249 187
50 244 183
51 240 180
52 235 176
53 231 173
54 226 170
55 222 167
56 218 164
57 214 161
58 211 158
59 207 155
60 204 153
61 200 150
62 197 148
63 194 146
64 191 143
65 188 141
66 185 139
67 182 137
68 180 135
69 177 133
70 175 131
71 172 129
72 170 127
73 167 126
74 165 124
75 163 122
76 161 121
77 159 119
78 157 118
79 155 116
80 153 115
81 151 113
82 149 112
83 147 110
84 146 109
Ceiling Fan Wind Speed Calculator
Ask Your Questions Here!
(500 characters max)

*Name: 
*Email:  
Phone:  
Your information is kept private. Leave your phone# if you wish to speak directly to an expert (recommended)!

(We only respond to questions about brands that we sell)

Answers to Recent Ceiling Fans Questions Posted To This Page
  1. Question #9504 - Posted: 11/22/2014 1:30:40 PM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Savoy House Model SV-14-325-FD-SN

    View  model SV-14-325-FD-SN
    SV-14-325-FD-SN - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/savoyhouse/model.asp?ProdNo=SV-14-325-FD-SN

    QUESTION: How far down from the ceiling does the Seaside fan hang when installed with the flushmount option?

    ANSWER: Thanks for your question: The Seaside fan from Savoy House comes with an 8" downrod as well as a flush mount adapter. The bottom of the fan cage hangs 16.3" from the ceiling when installed with the 8" downrod. Although the manufacturer does not specify the hanging distance with the flush mount option, after reviewing the installation instructions I have estimated that the flush mount option will reduce the distance by at least 6" to be safe...if not a bit more. That would put the bottom of the fan at about 10" from the ceiling.

  2. Question #9503 - Posted: 7/6/2014 9:23:16 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Minka Aire Model F820-CT

    View  model F820-CT
    F820-CT - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/minkaaire/model.asp?ProdNo=F820-CT

    QUESTION: I want to purchase the 36" Down rod DR536-CT (Cattera Bronze finish) $25.13 for the Santa Lucia Ceiling Fan I recently purchased from you. However, when I try to select it the website automatically adds the fan too. Please help

    ANSWER: Sorry you are having trouble ordering a downrod. Here is what you can do: Simply delete the fan from your shopping cart to order just the downrod or use this link to add the downrod to your cart by itself: Minka Aire DR536-CT Downrod.

  3. Question #9502 - Posted: 7/6/2014 9:17:41 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question

    http://www.hansenwholesale.com/help.asp

    QUESTION: Do you happen to carry Hunter fan light fixtures that have a triangle base. These are not held in by screws but by a clip system. Thank you, John

    ANSWER: I am sorry to report that we do not have any of the Hunter light fixtures you are looking for. Hunter only made the triangular fixtures for a short period of time and they discontinued them several years ago (too many problems). It is unlikely that you will be able to locate one anywhere. If you can email me some pictures of your fan along with the model number (located on a label on top of the fan housing), I may be able to come up with an alternative that will fit. Email your pictures to: gregt@hansenwholesale.com

  4. Question #9501 - Posted: 7/4/2014 1:41:29 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Emerson Model CF788ORB-B78WA

    View  model CF788ORB-B78WA
    CF788ORB-B78WA - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/emerson/model.asp?ProdNo=CF788ORB-B78WA

    QUESTION: How powerful is the fan? It will be used in an upstairs room that gets quite warm? Thank you

    ANSWER: Regarding the Emerson Carrera Grande Eco, it is one of the most powerful and efficient fans we sell. The Emerson ECO fans are some of our most highly recommended fans overall. You will certainly be happy with the airflow compared to fans of lesser caliber. Here is a link where you can Read More Aabout the Emerson Eco Fans.

  5. Question #9500 - Posted: 7/3/2014 1:55:05 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Modern Fan Model VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC

    View  model VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC
    VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/modernfan/model.asp?ProdNo=VEL-HUG-BN-50-NK-NL-NC

    QUESTION: Hello, First off, I love all the consumer information Hansen Wholesale provides. I'd love a clarification on something. You say that hugger fans don't work as well as regular ceiling fans. This makes total sense. However, why would the Modern Fan Velo Hugger be rated at the same 6650 CFM and 5.54 MPH wind speed as the regular Velo? (Is it because the blades are installed as low as possible on the hugger fan, thus negating the height benefits?)

    ANSWER: You are exactly correct. When installed with a standard downrod, the regular Velo hangs down the same distance as the Velo Hugger, so the airflow is the same.

  6. Question #9499 - Posted: 7/2/2014 11:30:33 PM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Savoy House Model SV-58-819-5WA-37

    View  model SV-58-819-5WA-37
    SV-58-819-5WA-37 - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/savoyhouse/model.asp?ProdNo=SV-58-819-5WA-37

    QUESTION: Hello! Per the information on the site, the new DC motors, the Emerson K55XL, and other "induction" type motors are considered best quality. If that's the case, how do fans with smallish non-special motors (Say, Savoy House Indira, with 153 x 22mm motor) earn a 5 rating?

    ANSWER: There are exceptions. A 5 rating is not just based on the motor inside the fan, but the overall consideration of the quality of the components and performance. Most 153mm motors are only 12mm to 15mm tall and tend to be overworked. The motor used in the Indra is 22mm tall, which is very unusual. This is a special motor that Savoy House had designed for this fan and the performance and quality of the motor are excellent. The 3-blade Indra produces a whopping 8517 CFM and runs very smooth and quiet. The entire fan was designed to produce maximum airflow while reducing noise. The blades have a very special aerodynamic design and the fan runs perfectly quiet. When I saw this fan introduced at the lighting show in Dallas, I was very impressed. Overall, one of the best fans I have rated in years. A DC motor would have been nice...but was not necessary to earn a 5 in my book.

    Here is a link to the Savoy House Indra.

  7. Question #9496 - Posted: 6/19/2014 10:09:09 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Minka Aire Model F513-WH

    View  model F513-WH
    F513-WH - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/minkaaire/model.asp?ProdNo=F513-WH

    QUESTION: Hi, I have 4 rooms I'm thinking of installing fans. One is 10x14, 2 are 13x14, and a fourth is 23x15. For the first 3 I was considering Minka Aire F513. For the largest room I was thinking about Minka Aire MF-689. Will these be adequate? Thanks, Tom Kelley

    ANSWER: The Minka Aire F513 New Era fans will be great for the 3 smaller rooms. For the larger room, a single ceiling fan will not be adequate...you should install 2 fans. If you install 2 fans, then the F689 Kola-XL 60" fans would be a great choice. If you can only install a single fan, then I would recommend an even larger fan (up to 84") such as the Fanimation Odyn. Here are links to those resources: Large Ceiling Fans or The Fanimation Odyn. Please call us at: 1-800-201-1193 and we will be happy to discuss all of your options and help you make an educated decision.

  8. Question #9495 - Posted: 6/19/2014 9:59:26 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question

    http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/fanfaqs.asp

    QUESTION: for a DC fan I must use solar power, I am looking for a very efficient fan around 72 inch for a vaulted living room, I have 3 sky lights, I can use one for solar, if I go this way what is the ball park figure for the solar unit for the fan., and how does it work at night. or should I get a very efficient ac ceiling fan Thank you Rob Tash

    ANSWER: All of the ceiling fans we sell are made to connect to AC current and there are no options to convert them to DC current from solar power. So for high efficiency, we would recommend any of our DC ceiling fans, but connected to AC current. Here is a link to all of our Ceiling Fans with DC Motors. For a super efficient DC fan without a light, I would recommend the Fanimation Keystone. Otherwise, just give us a call and we will be happy to help you choose the best fan for your application.

  9. Question #9494 - Posted: 5/10/2014 3:26:40 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Kichler Model KL-300146AP-37027OBB

    View  model KL-300146AP-37027OBB
    KL-300146AP-37027OBB - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/kichler/model.asp?ProdNo=KL-300146AP-37027OBB

    QUESTION: The kitchler 58" arkwright fan with plywood blades. Your polished version with poly blades shows that it has plywood blades and a light. Your pewter with plywood blades says it has no blades and that no light is avail? The page also says there is an error with the blades? Does the polished version version listed as poly blades have the plywood blades and the light as listed? Does the pewter version with plywood come with the blades and does it include the light or is there one avail? Prices?

    ANSWER: Sorry for the confusion regarding the Kichler Arkwright fans, we did have some errors which I have now fixed. The bottom line is, the Kichler Arkwright fans come without blades or lights so you can pick and choose whichever combination suites your taste. We named them "Plywood" or "Polycarbonate" only to differentiate between what is shown in the pictures. But you can get any of the motor finishes with any of the blades (size, material or finish) with or without a light. The pictures and model numbers we created are just a few examples of the possible combinations.

  10. Question #9493 - Posted: 5/8/2014 9:00:50 AM

    Ceiling Fans Question - Casablanca Model CA-54101

    View  model CA-54101
    CA-54101 - http://www.hansenwholesale.com/ceilingfans/casablanca/model.asp?ProdNo=CA-54101

    QUESTION: Will remote automatically work with this fan or will I have to do any rewiring? The ceiling fan I have is worried directly and not to a wall switch.

    ANSWER: This remote is only designed to work with specific Casablanca ceiling fans, so the answer depends on the fan that you already have. The receiver wires into the canopy at the ceiling. No extra wiring is necessary to install the receiver aside from connecting it to the existing ceiling wiring and to the fan wiring. Please contact us to discuss your particular fan model.

Search & Compare
Energy Efficient Ceiling Fans
Ceiling Fans with Lights
Ceiling Fan Prices
CFM Airflow on High Speed
(Cubic Feet of Air/Minute)
Other Ceiling Fan Filters
Ceiling Fan Accessories
Need to fix your fan?

Energy Star Ceiling Fans and Lighting Energy Star Products Energy Star Ceiling Fans Energy Star Lighting
Ceiling Fans - Lighting - Remodeling and Home Design

Consumer Sales
Product Info and Ordering
Phone: 1-800-201-1193
Phone2: 1-562-594-1249 (outside USA)
Fax: 1-562-626-8270
Email: Information Request
Mon-Fri 7am-6pm, Sat 7am-5pm, Sun 8am-6pm (PST)

Customer Service
Questions About Pending Orders
Phone: 1-800-607-2665
Phone2: 1-562-594-1249 (outside USA)
Fax: 1-562-626-8270
Email: Customer Service
Hours: Mon-Fri: 7am-5pm (PST)

Trade/Resale Accounts
Resale, Contractors, Etc.
Phone: 1-800-365-3267
Phone2: 1-562-594-1249 (outside USA)
Fax: 1-562-626-8270
Email: Information Request
Hours: Mon-Fri: 8:30am-4:30pm (PST)

Terms/Conditions/Privacy
About Us
Ceiling Fan Blog

Corporate Mailing Address and Warehouse
Hansen Wholesale 11132 Winners Circle Suite 100, Los Alamitos, CA 90720

Thanks for choosing Hansen Wholesale
Copyright 1994-2014 Hansen Wholesale

The End